A Brand for London

I ♥ London

Posted in Thoughts by Moving Brands on September 1, 2009

IHeartLondon2

So, after a weeks worth of work I get home late on a Friday night to find my girlfriend standing in front of me proudly wearing a hoody she bought in a souvenir shop on Oxford Street… she then presents me with a London pencil case in the shape of a Giant Pencil adored with more London-type cliches then I care to shake a stick at (Big Ben, black cab’s, phoneboxes…), and aside from the obviously (and grwatly appreciated) support she was showing – I thought to myself, maybe just maybe the more cliched a brand for London the better? Should we fight cliche or embrace it? What do you guys think?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. schui said, on September 1, 2009 at 9:43 am

    haha, I wish I could see your face, when she presented your gift.

    I think you should fight cliches! the more cliche the brand would be, the easier it will get mixed up with aaaall the other postcards, stickers, souvenirs and what not. it would loose its unique stand-out factor and would be just another random thing from London.

    • Moving Brands said, on September 2, 2009 at 9:06 am

      Yeah your right I should have taken a picture of my face – it was quite a picture… I will blog the pencil case so you can see the jaw-dropping quality of it.

  2. John Toppin said, on September 1, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Hard to encapsulate London. For me its the variety of faces/places/tastes/sounds/new/old that make it unique.

    Thinking of Tower Bridge turned into a smile in ever changing colours….

  3. Pete Serjeant said, on September 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Don’t copy is a great ‘brand’ idea…re-invent it, yes but do not do a copy and paste – it is not big and not clever…Check out the ‘I lourve paris graphic’, this a clever twist, basically I ‘triangle’ paris
    BUT in short, London needs its own ‘brand icon’ to help change its identity…I’d ‘love’ to have a go myself !


Leave a Reply

